Connect with us


Senate: APC’s Preferred Candidates Lawan, Omo-Agege Emerge Winners



Senator for Yobe North Ahmad Lawan has been elected as Senate President.

Lawan defeated his closest contender Senator Ali-Ndume with 79 votes, out of the total of 107 votes cast.

Ndume polled 28 votes.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori, made the announcement in Abuja.

Announcing the result, the Clerk said that 107 Senators- elect voted.

Lawan was immediately sworn in by the CNA after taking the oath of allegiance and that of office.

Prior to the announcement, there was palpable tension and fear as Senators- elect commenced voting for either the Senate Leader in the 8th, Senator Ahmad Lawan APC Yobe North or the former Senate Leader and a strong contender for the position of Senate President for the 9th Senate, Senator Ali Ndume, APC, Borno South.

Similarly, Senator for Delta Central Senatorial Ovie Omo-Agege defeated his closest opponent Ike Ekweremadu a former Deputy Senate President to emerge as the Deputy Senate President of the Ninth Assembly.

Omo-Agege pulled 69 votes while Ekweremadu got 38.

However, the election for the Speaker of the House of Representatives which a straight fight between former house leader Femi Gbajabiamila (Lagos, APC) and Umar Bago (Niger, APC) is still ongoing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More Posts



Copyright © 2018 Birdview Communications LTD.