Connect with us


Official! 25-Man Squad List Of AFCON Super Eagles Players



Nigeria national team has listed midfield, Mikel John Obi, pacy winger Ahmed Musa, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Abdullahi Shehu in a 25-man squad to prepare for the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations finals in Egypt this summer.

The list which was made available to newsmen on Tuesday was signed by Coach Gernot Rohr. Six other players are on standby.

Among the six standby players are defenders Ikouwem Utin and Valentine Ozornwafor who have also been named in Nigeria’s final 21 for the FIFA U20 World Cup starting in Poland next week.

Rohr claimed that he included the two players because the FIFA U20 World Cup will end on June 15, six days before the first match will be played at the AFCON.

 It was reported that Mikel, who captained the team at the FIFA World Cup finals in Russia last year summer but became absent since Nigeria’s elimination from the finals after a 1-2 defeat by Argentina in Saint Petersburg after a recent meeting with Coach Rohr in the United Kingdom sealed his return to the three-time African champions, with the possibility of adding to his 85 international caps.

Rohr said that the Trojans who earned a ticket to the AFCON finals with a match to spare, with goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, defenders Leon Balogun and William Ekong, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi and forwards Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon also on the roll call.


More Posts



Copyright © 2018 Birdview Communications LTD.