Connect with us


INEC Issues Certificate To Senators-Elect



The Independent National Electoral Commission is presenting certificates of return to candidates who won the senatorial election that held across the country on Saturday, February 23.

At the International Conference Centre, Abuja, the senators-elect are being called states by states to collect their certificates from officials of the electoral body.

House of Representatives’ members-elect are expected to take their turn later today.

INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, had said that late conclusion of the review of the electoral law would affect the commission’s implementation of the framework.

“There is a lot of work but very little time available. As a process governed by law, the success of election in Nigeria depends to a large extent on the electoral legal framework and most importantly, in ensuring adherence to the law.

“I want to assure you that we will continue to work with the National Assembly to review and strengthen our Electoral Law.

“But I want to appeal to the Senators-elect to please start work early and conclude work on the electoral framework in good time well ahead of the 2023 general elections.

“The tendency to delay electoral reform, particularly the review of the electoral framework, until it is too close to the elections, leaves the commission with little time to develop processes including regulations and guidelines, make required consultation with stakeholders, embark on effective voter education including sensitisation, train staff and organise deployment for the elections.

“I am glad that among the senators-elect are senators that we have worked very closely with and some of them have taken initiative or even sponsored private member bills to advance the cause of electoral reform,” he said.

Among those issued the certificate of return are: Sen. Ike Ekweremadu, Enugu West (PDP); Mohammed Sabo, Jigawa South West (APC); Philip Aduda, FCT(PDP) and Sen. Dino Malaiye Kogi West (PDP).

Others are Baba Kaita, Kastina North (APC); Omo-Agege Ovie Delta Central (APC); Ibrahim Gandam, Yobe North (APC); Abdul’Aziz Yari, Zamfara North (APC); Kaura Yahaya, Zamfara West (APC) and Ifeanyi Uba, Anambra South (YPP).


More Posts



Copyright © 2018 Birdview Communications LTD.