Connect with us


Delta Assembly Suspends Another Member, Confirm 6 Appointees



Delta state House of Assembly during plenary today suspended member representing Burutu II constituency, Kennedy Daubry, for three months.

This is coming few weeks after it slammed a three-month suspension on former Speaker of Delta State House of Assembly, Monday Igbuya.

Majority Leader of the House, Tim Owhefere, while moving the motion to suspend Hon. Daubry, said the lawmaker had displayed character that was unbecoming of a legislator.

The motion was seconded by the Deputy Speaker; Friday Osanebi before it was unanimously adopted through voice vote presided over by the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori.

The Majority Leader speaking further noted that the sanctity of the House must be respected at all times by members, adding that members should live nobly.

He also urged members to improve on the sanctity of the House the way they met it or at least retain it.

“Daubry had behaved in a manner that was unbecoming of a lawmaker of the House hence the need to suspend him”.

Earlier, the House screened and confirmed two nominees, Mr. Julius Takeme and Mr. Freeman Orits Fregene for appointment as commissioners and members of the State Executive Council.

Their screening and confirmation followed motion raised by the Majority Leader, Owhefere and seconded by member representing Burutu I, Daniel Yingi.

It also screened and confirmed Mofe Pirah, Talib Tebite,  Ejaife Odebala while Dr Samuel Ochonogor Ossai was confirmed as Executive Director of the Governing Board of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission.

And Mr. Kelly Oghenekevwe was screened and confirmed as a member of the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue after considering three nominations letters read on the floor of the House during Tuesday’s plenary by the Speaker, Oborevwori.

According to the letter, four nominees are to fill the vacancies created by the resignation of Mr. Jonathan Amitaye, Amos Itihwe, Thomas Ereyitomi as members of the Board members and Honourable Ochor Ochor as Executive Director, Social Services, Mr. Kelly Oghenekevwe is to replace as member of the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue, the vacancy occasioned by the resignation of Mr. Solomon Ighrakpata.

Meanwhile, Mr. Julius Takeme and Mr Freeman Orits Fregene are to replace the vacancy created by Austin Chikezie and Asupa Forteta.





Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More Posts



Copyright © 2018 Birdview Communications LTD.